Scorecard Redesign: KILF (Keep it Laser-Focused)

The 12 Week Year scorecard idea has got off to a stuttery start for me.

Although I thought I simplified it before the week began, I didn’t do so in the right way.

I reduced the number of things I was tracking per goal down to one. What I should have been doing was reducing the number of goals down to one.

I added two daily behaviours that I knew I was going to do anyway:

  1. Write a blog post every day.
  2. Sit in the presence of my suppressed anxiety for an hour every morning, in order to bring it to the surface and heal it. (Something quite interesting happened during this morning’s hour, but I’ll have to write about that later).

I wanted to boost my overall score by including these behaviours that I was already fully committed to. I also wanted to make a scorecard that reflected all the most important behaviours in my daily life right now.

However, this scorecard thing is new to me and I’m learning the new behaviour of keeping score just as much as any behaviour I’m scoring. It doesn’t need to cover your whole life. Why not focus it in on just one aspect. Not the most important aspect, but the most urgent.

Focusing My First Scorecard on Only The Scariest Goal

Healing my suppressed anxiety is the most important thing I can do (probably), but doing so is super simple and easy to keep score without a fancy spreadsheet.

What’s most urgent, however, is getting Content Lab to profitability.

It’s also the scariest thing I have to do. So if I’m going to keep a scorecard for my implementation of something, it should focus like a laser on achieving that one thing.

There are sub-goals within that larger goal, which is why compressing the whole thing down to two behaviours (spend two 90-minute “Jam Sessions” on biz dev, and two more on outreach) was a mistake. It kept it vague, meaning I had to spend mental energy figuring out what to do every day.

Declaring My Commitment Publically

This week, the behaviours on my scorecard will be as follows:

  1. Spend 2 Jam Sessions on outreach.
  2. Reach out to at least 10 potential new customers daily.
  3. Spend 2 Jam Sessions on biz dev.
  4. Reach out to at least 2 potential writers daily.
  5. Create a fully optimised blog funnel weekly.
  6. Create a guest blog funnel weekly.
  7. Spend at least half an hour daily developing relationships with editors of big-deal online publications.

Clarifier: The 90-minute Jam Sessions do NOT include meetings, but they can be divided into 25-minute pomodoros if time (or energy) is an issue.

At the end of the week, I will report back with my score.

And to keep the system above accountable – The specific goal is to get at least one interested prospect and one interested writer per week. The content production should produce an average of 10 new email subscribers per week.

Let’s find out!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

