Build a Score Card for Success Habits

Despite having only JUST posted about my new “powerful day” regime, yesterday I got it in my head to rebel against it, and I screwed my sleeping pattern and working rhythm.

Time to beat myself up, right? My tendency to self-destruct (the healing of which I’m still working on) flared up again, derailing my efforts to achieve what I want. Why do I keep screwing up? Why can’t I stick to these things? I’ll never amount to…blah blah blah.

I’m grateful that these thoughts don’t come up for me anymore.

For starters, I know why I keep derailing myself. My study into emotional and spiritual mechanics has made it obvious. I simply choose to. I am where I am because–on some level–I want to be. It’s the same for all of us. There is a way to change it, but as I said, I’m still working on that.

I’m intrigued by what a productive day I’ve had today, regardless of yesterday’s weakness.

I bounced back much faster than I would have without this regime. It turns out that falling off the waggon isn’t so bad, as long as you have a great waggon to get back on.

Bouncing back so fast also depended on my acceptance of the set-back. Emotional fortitude has a lot more to do with surrender than you might think.

And productivity is an emotional thing, make no mistake.

The Score Card Idea

Having said that, I want to implement a very unemotional system to track this stuff.

A month from now, I want to look back on my “power regime” experiment and see how I did, what the results were, how often and how badly I failed to implement it, etc.

Otherwise, I won’t really know how well it worked.

The book The 12 Week Year may hold the answer. It outlines how to build a scorecard for yourself as a knowledge worker.

Athletes have always had solid scoring systems to hold themselves and their teams accountable. A certain number of workouts per week, with quantifiable metrics like weight lifted or miles run. At every game you either win or lose, or come 1st, 2nd, or 50th in the race. Everything is a number. All numbers are rigorously tracked. As a result, performance is held to an inescapable standard.

What if we could hold ourselves to the same standard, even with goals and activities that don’t have numbers and scores built in?

Turns out we can.

The fantastic blog Asian Efficiency recently put out some content on implementing The 12 Week Year system (here and here). I’m going to study up, make a scoreboard of my own, and be back with the result in due time.

Here is Zack of Asian Efficiency giving a quick overview of the concept – Video.

 

Leave a Reply

